English

What Do You Do With a B.A. In English?

I’m now in my final semester of college, which means that everyone I saw over the holidays wanted to know what The Plan is for after graduation.  I have a degree in journalism (I’m still here to finish my Spanish degree…don’t ask) but I don’t want to be a reporter. I don’t want to be a teacher.

So what the hell do you do with a B.A. in English?

People don’t seem to believe me when I try to explain that there are lots of jobs in writing that aren’t traditional reporting jobs or haranguing fourteen year olds into reading Shakespeare. But there are! I don’t know how easy they are to get, but they’re out there.

I’ve made it my New Year’s resolution to be applying for one of said jobs a day, whether I feel like it or not, and regardless of whether the little doubting voices in my head say I can get the job or not. So sometimes I’m applying for jobs at trade journals about microwaves, and sometimes I’m applying for jobs at swanky ad agencies. Nothing ventured, nothing gained, etc.

The other thing I’m doing with my B.A. in English is trying really hard to save some money. My boyfriend’s going to be in BC’s fulltime MBA program next semester, which means we have to live in the Boston area on one income (hold the sugar mama jokes, thanks). So phase two is more beans and rice and less shopping. I’ve unsubscribed from all the daily deal sites and from eblasts from online stores I usually frequent, and I’m going to stop stopping at stores “just to check the clearance rack” (bargains are my kryptonite)

It’s scary to be graduating into the creative world, especially in the current environment, but I’m finding that taking at least a little control over the situation helps. So what do you do with a B.A. in English? Hunker down, save your money, apply for everything, and just keep on plugging. I’ll let you know how I’m doing in April.

Standard

Leave a Reply

